The Christopher Box Grainger Memorial Trophy

Awarded to a School/College which excelled in promoting cricket to the under-privileged

(The image shown above is of Christopher Box-Grainger with The Australian Women's Cricket Team during the Test Series of 1976)

2019 No award made

Chris Box-Grainger served as Captain of the Society XI between 1956-57.  He played 162 games and took 54 catches. 

Not a man to be defined by statistics, he was not a brilliant cricketer, but he was a born leader. Throughout his life he poured all his phenomenal energy into whatever he was doing at the time and convinced everyone in the vicinity that it was the most important thing in the world.  When he Captained the Society XI, each match was the most important of the season, each village the most beautiful and each pub either the best in England or a disgrace to the licensing trade.

His influence was not measured in figures.  His enthusiasm transformed the Society, and infused the Society XI and its many overseas Tours.

Past Winners

2018 - Brent Knoll School, Lewisham

2017 - Jigsaw School, Cranleigh

2016 - Swiss Cottage School

2015 - Woodfield School of Kingsbury  (winners for a 2nd time)

2014 - Phoenix School of Bow (winners for a second time)

2013 - Brent Knoll School of Forest Hill

2012 - Joseph Clark School of Waltham Forest

2011 - Chailey Heritage School of East Sussex

2010 - Woodfield School of Kingsbury

2009 - Highshore School of Peckham

2008 - Corbets Tey School of Upminster

2007 - William Morris School of Westminster

2006 - Lindon School of Wimbledon Park

2005 - Carew Manor School of Wallington

2004 - Horizon School of Hackney

2003 - Lansdowne School of Stockwell

2002 - Phoenix School of Bow

2001 - Nine Acres School

All paintings and Illustrations featured are reproduced by kind permission of Christina Pierce - Cricket Artist.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse